About Us

The Traffic Penalty Tribunal comprises individually appointed independent adjudicators and a small team of administrative staff who work on their behalf.

Adjudicators consider appeals against Penalty Charge Notices (PCNs) issued by the majority of councils in England and Wales (outside London) for:

  • Parking contraventions
  • Bus lane contraventions
  • Moving traffic contraventions (such as box junctions and no right turns) – Wales only.
  • Failing to pay a charge at: The Dartford-Thurrock River Crossing (Dart Charge), the Mersey Gateway Bridge Crossings (Merseyflow) and at the Durham Peninsular Congestion Charging Zone.

Adjudicators also consider appeals against Penalty Notices (PNs) issued by some councils in England (outside London) where:

  • There is reason to believe that a littering offence has been committed in respect of the vehicle on the highway or the authority’s land.